First Yeast Bread

So, I’ve been trying to make bread like my mother’s FOREVER!!!!!  There are some things I can do in the kitchen better than she can but for that good ole soul loving cooking — that lady is AHMAZING!!!   Where bread is concerned,  I’m inching CLOSER!!!!!!  😀 

Today I tried a no-knead bread  recipe from Steamy Kitchen and O.M.G!!!!  Although I hadn’t left it to rise for the 12 hours required ( I did 8), I got the most amazing bread.   A wonderfully crisp crust with an amazingly soft inside!    I’m not going to lie, not kneading it means that you have to wait hours for it to rise, but the end result is awesome!

Next go round, I’m going to add 7 seeds so I can get a more grainy and fibrous bread!

I was so excited, I couldn’t wait to get a decent picture of it, so forgive me. 

Here’s my bread:

First Bread

Just ignore the sections I already ate!  LOLOL!!!  😀

9 thoughts on “First Yeast Bread

  1. sam February 13, 2013 / 1:42 pm

    Man, I need to stop reading your blog and go get some lunch… all these delicious posts are making me hungry. There’s nothing better than the smell of fresh baked bread. mmmmm

    • Nicky February 14, 2013 / 8:18 pm

      LOLOL!!! There really is nothing better! The house smelled so homey. 😀

  2. Kate Lantry February 11, 2013 / 11:40 pm

    Congrats! It looks very yummy 🙂

    • Nicky February 12, 2013 / 2:29 pm

      It was. And I do mean was … it’s done! That’s just an excuse for me to do another one! LOLOL!

  3. Andi February 11, 2013 / 4:29 pm

    There is something about the experience of making your own bread. I have only done so a couple times, but each time it tasted like the best bread in the world. Probably because I knew how much work went into it. 🙂 Well done you!

    • Nicky February 12, 2013 / 2:30 pm

      I totally get where you’re coming from. It felt good to go to sleep with the smell of bread in the apt.

      Thanks so much. 😀

  4. Robin February 11, 2013 / 9:16 am

    Yah for you! I remember when I made my first edible loaf of bread, I had a huge feeling of accomplishment! Very soul satisfying.

    • Nicky February 12, 2013 / 2:31 pm

      Yes indeed. That’s how I felt eating it with my crock pot made spinach and peas soup yesterday.

Let's Chat!!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.